Skip to Main Content

Land Conservation Advisory Board

The Buncombe County Land Conservation Advisory Board was created by the County Commissioners in 2004 to promote the use of voluntary land conservation easements to preserve the beauty and ecology of Buncombe County.

Conservation easements are voluntary deed restrictions placed on an owner's property that prohibit or limit future development on the property. These restrictions are perpetual and may be enforced in court. Since the easements are voluntary, there is considerable flexibility afforded an owner in tailoring the easement to the owner's needs. Conservation easements do not require a landowner to allow public access to their property.

Buncombe County has selected ten high priority focus areas of importance for preservation using conservation easements. Eight focus areas are the beautiful and largely unspoiled mountain ranges throughout the County. One is along the French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers. The final focus area is lands adjacent to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

In 2004, the Conservation Advisory Board conducted a survey of all lands that were protected in Buncombe County. There are 420,269 total acres in Buncombe County. In 2004, 57,238 acres were already protected by national forests, State parks, conservation easements and protected water sheds. By the end of 2013, the total number of protected acres in Buncombe County was 73,030 acres. The support of the Buncombe County Commissioners and their focus on preserving lands in Buncombe County has been very successful. This leadership has generated over $32 million in grants and gifts from landowners and private donors to make these easements possible.

Anyone with an interest in pursuing a conservation easement should email Debbie Truempy at


Board Members

  • Greg Hutchins, Chairman
  • John Ager
  • Charlie Ball
  • Chuck Cloninger
  • Karen Cragnolin
  • Nathan Pennington, CFM
  • Matt Fusco
  • Bob Gale
  • Kathryn Gubista
  • Damon Hearne
  • Christie Melear
  • Nancy Nehls Nelson
  • Meridith Powell
  • Kieran Roe
  • Carl Silverstein
  • Debbie Truempy, Staff

© 2010 Land Conservation Advisory Board