Skip to main content

Agricultural Advisory Board


The Buncombe County Agricultural Advisory Board is composed of nine County residents appointed by the County Commissioners.

A minimum of five of the Board members must be actively engaged in farming. Those five are selected from candidates recommended by the Soil & Water Conservation District, the N. C. Cooperative Extension Service, and the Farm Services Agency committee.

Board Position Details

Table: Boards & Commissions
Term Length3 years
Number of Terms2

Board Members

  • David Lee
  • Bruce Snelson
  • Terri Wells
  • Steve Duckett
  • Alan Lang
  • Anne Grier
  • Ed Bulluck
  • Annie Louise Perkinson

Board Meeting Schedule


  • Review and make recommendations concerning the establishment and modification of agricultural districts.
  • Review and make recommendations concerning any ordinance or amendment adopted or proposed for adoption.
  • Hold public hearings on public projects likely to have an impact on agricultural operations, particularly if such projects involve condemnation of all or part of any qualifying farm.
  • Advise the governing board of the county or city on projects, programs, or issues affecting the agricultural economy or way of life within the county.
  • Perform other related tasks or duties assigned by the governing board of the county or city.

Archived Agendas & Minutes

Locate & Contact

Soil & Water Conservation District


P: (828) 250-4785

Soil & Water Conservation District
49 Mount Carmel Road, Suite 101
Asheville, NC 28806

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.