Skip to main content

Attention - Moving Notice

The ID Bureau has moved all daily operations regarding public fingerprinting services,
criminal background checks, and all gun permitting processes to 52 Coxe Ave.

While visiting the ID Bureau for gun permitting or fingerprint services, please use the parking spaces marked "reserved" as you will not need to pay to park while visiting the ID Bureau.

An appointment is required for all fingerprint services.
Please call 250-4665 to schedule an appointment as public fingerprint services by appointment only.

Concealed Handgun Permit

Criteria of Issuance:

  1. An applicant must be a resident of Buncombe County and a resident of North Carolina for 30 days prior to the application being filed.
  2. An applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
  3. An applicant must not suffer from any physical or mental weakness that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.
  4. An applicant must have successfully completed a North Carolina approved firearms safety and training course.
  5. A Concealed Weapon Permit requires a $90 nonrefundable fee (which includes a $10 fingerprint fee) for a NEW application or a $75 nonrefundable fee for a RENEWAL application payable online using any major credit or debit card. A convenience fee of $4 (plus a credit card processing fee) will also be charged for using the online application service

Please provide the following for initial application process:

  1. A North Carolina approved Firearm Safety Training Certificate (original certificate).
  2. Valid driver's license or ID card (all information on license or ID card must be correct).
  3. Naturalized Residents must bring your Naturalization Certificate or a valid U.S. Passport.
  4. DD214 (if discharged from military).
  5. All required items must be provided at the time of your appointment otherwise the appointment may need to be rescheduled.

Persons not eligible include anyone:

  1. Found guilty or received a prayer for judgment continued or suspended sentence for any crimes of violence or misdemeanor assaults as defined by General Statutes.
  2. Under indictment or against whom a finding of probable cause exists for a felony.
  3. Found guilty in any court for a felony.
  4. Receiving a prayer for judgment continued for any criminal offense which disqualifies a person from receiving a Concealed Handgun Permit.
  5. Who is a fugitive from justice.
  6. Who is an unlawful user of or addicted to illegal drugs.
  7. Discharged from the armed forces for other than honorable reasons.
  8. Who has been ruled mentally ill or lacking mental capacity.
  9. Ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law.
  10. Free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal or sentencing for a crime which disqualifies a person from receiving a Concealed Handgun Permit.
  11. Convicted of an impaired driving offense within three years prior to application.

Location & Contact


Bureau of ID
P: (828) 250-4665
F: (828) 250-6047

Bureau of Identification
52 Coxe Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801

Find Parking

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.