Skip to main content

Task Force 2 Recognized by State Leadership

Pictured above: Will Ray, Taylor Jones, Allen Morgan, Chief Cayse, Wes Rogers, Todd Brown

Task Force 2 Recognized for Quick Response in Assisting the State of Vermont with Swiftwater Rescue Team

Task Force 2, comprised of emergency services personnel from Buncombe County, North Carolina, has been recognized for their response to the flooding in Vermont in 2023. Last week, Will Ray, the Director of the North Carolina Emergency Management (NCEM), presented an award to Task Force 2, acknowledging their actions during the crisis.

The team included:

  • Brittany Robinson and Allen Morgan from Buncombe County Emergency Services

  • Eric Barnwell, Eric Rogers, Chris Sitton, Dan Coward, Nick Stafford, and Lee Benfield from Skyland Fire Department

  • Lucas McCracken and Jacob McCracken from West Buncombe Fire Department

  • Mike Gibson from Upper Hominy Fire Department

  • JM Keupp, Scott Hare, Isaac McCurry, Jesse Heard, and James Kodaras from Asheville Fire Department

All members of the team were deployed to Vermont as part of Task Force 2, a regional swiftwater resuce team. 

The response was prompted by a distress call from Vermont due to significant flooding caused by record-breaking rainfall. Task Force 2, comprising a total of 34 individuals, including liaison officers from NCEM, positioned themselves on each side of the Green Mountain range near Springfield and Manchester.

The City of Asheville and Buncombe County Government extend their gratitude to Task Force 2 for their diligent work, prompt response, and collaboration during times of crisis in emergency response efforts.






Filter News:

Translate Options

Article Information

Updated Mar 22, 2024 02:23 PM
Published Mar 18, 2024 11:13 AM

Previous Article: Affordable Parking Program Update: Nearly 60 Spots Still Available, Apply Now
Next Article: National Agriculture Day: Work Behind Preservation and Growth