Clear

About BOE  

The Buncombe County Board of Elections is committed to conducting fair, honest, impartial and efficient elections so that all qualified citizens in Buncombe County may exercise their right to vote.

The Elections Office is responsible for conducting all elections in Buncombe County, including municipal, county, state, and federal elections, as well as special referenda.

Services include:

  • Maintain Voter Registration Records
  • Receive Candidate Filing for General Assembly and local candidates
  • Campaign Finance office for local candidates/committees
  • Provide for Remote Absentee Voting
  • Educate Election Day Officials
  • Provide for Election Day Voting
  • Report Election Day Results to Public and Authorities
  • Evaluate and Improve Election Services
  • Provide Election Reports and Statistical Information

Other Community Services Includes:

  • Assist in High School Government Elections
  • Provide voter and precinct information to public
  • Assist KidsVoting Buncombe County
  • Provide registration materials and advice for community registration drives
  • Visit community groups for voter/election education

Staff Contacts

Director of Elections
Trena Parker
(828) 250-4207
Trena.Parker@buncombecounty.org

Deputy Director for Voter Registration
Joyce Kanavel
(828) 250-4209
Joyce.Kanavel@buncombecounty.org

Election and Early Voting Workers
John Noce
(828) 250-4216
John.Noce@buncombecounty.org

Campaign Finance & Absentee/Early Voting Administration
Rachel Rathbone
(828) 250-4218
Rachel.Rathbone@buncombecounty.org

Systems Administrator/Data Analyst
Jennifer Sparks
(828) 250-4229
Jennifer.Sparks@buncombecounty.org

Office Assistant
Victoria Leyva
(828) 250-4214
Victoria.Leyva@buncombecounty.org

Warehouse Manager
Allan Johnson
(828) 250-4203
Allan.Johnson@buncombecounty.org