# MINUTES OF BUNCOMBE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' EMERGENCY MEETING OF AUGUST 18, 2021 AT 12 P.M.

# BE IT REMEMBERED: That the Board of Commissioners met in emergency session on August 18,

2021, in the Commission Chambers, 200 College Street, Room 326 in downtown Asheville, North Carolina at 12 p.m.

where and when the following business was transacted:

The Chairman called the meeting to order with the following members present:

Brownie Newman, Chairman Jasmine Beach-Ferrara, Commissioner Amanda Edwards, Commissioner Robert Pressley, Commissioner Parker Sloan, Commissioner Terri Wells, Commissioner Al Whitesides, Vice Chair

Staff present: Avril Pinder, County Manager; Sybil Tate, Assistant County Manager; Dakisha Wesley, Assistant County Manager; Sheriff Quentin Miller; Stacie Saunders, Public Health Director; Fletcher Tove, Preparedness & Security Officer Lamar Joyner, Clerk to the Board; Michael Frue, Senior Staff Attorney

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 12:06 p.m.

#### COVID Update

Stacie Saunders, Public Health Director, provided information on the status of the COVID-19 pandemic data and trends, vaccination update, and metric data (1 category coded red). With the infection rate of COVID increasing and hospitalizations increasing as well, Saunders made a recommendation for a county-wide face covering requirement for all indoor public spaces, implementation of social distancing measures for all indoor public spaces, and continue to follow other CDC and Executive Order recommendations. Vaccinations continue to be performed by the County with walk-in availability. A third dose of the Moderna or Pfizer vaccines for immunocompromised individuals is being recommended by the CDC.

## • Declaration State of Emergency

Michael Frue, Senior Staff Attorney, read the Declaration and highlighted the face covering sections. After the public comment session, the Commissioners, in response to increased effects of the COVID pandemic, expressed their views on the county-wide face covering and social distancing requirements for all indoor public spaces.

#### **Public Comment**

The following individuals spoke against the county-wide face covering requirement:

Thomas Kirchgasser Jamie Nix Kay Olsen Jan Black Steve Arpin Maureen McDowell	Resa Johnson Sherry Syence Jessica Peatross Paul Benjamin Gloria Michael T I Martin	Holly Bittinger Sherry Warner Charles Warner Don Yelton Jay Pfeil Christiana Dillingham	Lynn Stone Cathy Hubbell Nina Roberti Chris Tate
Maureen McDowell	TJ Martin	Christiana Dillingham	

The following individuals signed up for public comment but did not get to speak due to the session's one hour time limit:

Gary Alston	Martha F
Justin Wilson	T. Ehard
Doug Sweeny	Troy Bre
Jim Norconic	Elence E
Sunshine Gurliacci	Sheldon
Laurie Isher	Laurie Ti

Martha Hubert F. Ehardt Froy Brengle Elence Bellagio Sheldon Lieberman Laurie Timmerman Teddy Woizeski Jessica Ferris Kimberly McCurdy Paula Bishop Zach Brubaker Tamara Parker

Bart Cox Jonny Stockwell Timothy McCarthy Maria Parrino Craig Williams

Vice Chair Whitesides moved to approve the Declaration State of Emergency as presented. Commissioner Edwards seconded the motion and it passed 6-1. (NOES-Pressley)

Commissioner Beach-Ferrara moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Edwards seconded and the motion passed 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 2:05 p.m.

LAMAR JOYNER, CLERK BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

# BROWNIE NEWMAN, CHAIRMAN BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS