Skip to Main Content

News Article

Vote For McCormick Field

Nominees have been announced for the Best Minor League Ballparks category in the 2013 "10 Photo of McCormick Field. Photo credit: blueridgetravelguide.comBest Readers' Choice Travel Award," according to The USA TODAY Travel Media Group. 

McCormick Field has been selected as one of the finalists. The home of the Asheville Tourists was constructed in 1924 and even with multiple renovations; the ballpark still possesses its historic luster and rich history. The stadium contains countless unique features and is the only full season Single-A ballpark to make the list. Twenty nominees have been selected for this category of's prestigious weekly contest, which runs throughout the year.

Readers and users will have four weeks in which to vote for Best Minor League Ballparks, and the winner will be revealed on on Wednesday, August 14, 2013.

Rules allow the public the right to vote online for one nominee per category, per day, during this category's four-week period.

Nominees for all categories are chosen by a panelwhich includes a combination of editors from USA TODAY and; relevant expert contributors and sources for both these media and other Gannett properties.

The nomination panel for each travel award category is displayed on its associated contest page. All voting is digital and the 10Best Readers' Choice Travel Award contest is available on the website.

To see or all the nominees and place your vote, visit this site.

The full list of 20 nominations for the Best Minor League Ballparks category is as follows:

     McCormick Field - Asheville, NC
     Autozone Park - Memphis, TN
     Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark - Oklahoma City, OK
     Coca-Cola Field - Buffalo, NY
     Dell Diamond - Round Rock, TX
     Durham Bulls Athletic Park - Durham, NC
     Fifth Third Field - Toledo, OH
     FirstEnergy Stadium - Reading, PA
     Jackie Robinson Ballpark - Daytona Beach, FL
     LeLacheur Park - Lowell, MA
     Louisville Slugger Field - Louisville, KY
     McCoy Stadium - Pawtucket, RI
     MCU Park - Brooklyn, NY
     Metro Bank Park - Harrisburg, PA
     Modern Woodmen Park - Davenport, IA
     Raley Field - Sacramento, CA
     Richmond County Bank Ballpark - Staten Island, NY
     Ripken Stadium - Aberdeen, MD
     Riverwalk Stadium - Montgomery, AL
     Whataburger Field - Corpus Christi, TX