Mostly Cloudy

QUICK SEARCH
COUNTY FOCUS
WHAT'S Happening

Solid Waste 

Click Here to view the HHW Schedule

The Buncombe County Solid Waste Management Facility, or landfill, is located at 81 Panther Branch Road. The Transfer Station, which accepts residential waste only, is located at 190 Hominy Creek Rd.

Home improvement retailer Lowe’s Companies Inc. said today it has installed recycling centers in nearly 1,700 U.S. stores to provide a one-stop recycling destination for customers.

In addition to recycling shipping materials such as pallets, wraps and cardboard, Lowe’s stores are now offering to recycle hard-to-handle products like mobile phones, batteries and CFL bulbs.

HHW HOURS Friday only 9-3 at the Buncombe County Landfill, closed Fridays on or near a holiday, check below for holiday schedule.

Holiday Schedule

2014
Holiday Transfer Station Landfill HHW & Electronics Recycling
New Year’s Day Jan. 1 Open Regular Hours Jan. 1 Open Regular Hours Open regular hours Friday 9-3
Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday Jan. 20 Open Regular Hours Jan. 20 Open Regular Hours Open Friday, Jan. 24
Good Friday April 18 Open Regular Hours April 18 Open Regular Hours HHW CLOSED Friday April 18
Memorial Day May 26 Open Regular Hours May 26 Open Regular Hours HHW CLOSED Friday May 23
Independence Day July 4 Open Regular Hours July 4 Open Regular Hours HHW CLOSED Friday July 4
Labor Day Sept. 1 Open Regular Hours Sept. 1 Open Regular Hours HHW CLOSED Friday August 29
Veteran’s Day Nov. 11 Open Regular Hours Nov. 11 Open Regular Hours Open Friday, Nov. 14
Thanksgiving Nov. 27 CLOSED Nov. 27 CLOSED CLOSED
Thanksgiving Holiday Nov. 28 Open Regular Hours Nov. 28 Open Regular Hours HHW CLOSED Friday Nov. 28
Christmas Eve Dec. 24 (closed at 2 p.m.) Dec, 24 (closed at 2 p.m.) HHW CLOSED
Christmas Day Dec. 25 CLOSED Dec. 25 CLOSED HHW CLOSED Friday Dec. 26
Christmas (Day after) Dec. 26 Open Regular Hours Dec. 26 Open Regular Hours HHW CLOSED Dec. 27

2015
Holiday Transfer Station Landfill
New Year’s Day Open Regular Hours

Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here

Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday
Monday, January 19
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here
Good Friday
Friday, April 3
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here
Memorial Day
Monday, May 25
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here

Independence Day
Friday, July 3 & Saturday, July 4

Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here
Labor Day
Monday, September 7
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here
Veteran’s Day
Wednesday, November 11
Open Regular Hours

Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here

Thanksgiving
Thursday, November 26
CLOSED CLOSED
Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 27
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
HHW hours click here

Christmas Holiday
Wednesday, December 23

Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24
Close at 1p.m. Close at 1 p.m.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25
CLOSED CLOSED