Skip to Main Content

Solid Waste - News

There are no news items at this time.


The Buncombe County Solid Waste Management Facility, or landfill, is located at 81 Panther Branch Road. The Transfer Station, which accepts residential waste only, is located at 190 Hominy Creek Rd.

Home improvement retailer Lowe’s Companies Inc. said today it has installed recycling centers in nearly 1,700 U.S. stores to provide a one-stop recycling destination for customers.

In addition to recycling shipping materials such as pallets, wraps and cardboard, Lowe’s stores are now offering to recycle hard-to-handle products like mobile phones, batteries and CFL bulbs.

2017 Holiday Schedule

Table: 2017 Holiday Schedule
Holiday Transfer Station Landfill
New Year’s Day
Monday, January 2
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday
Monday, January 16
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Good Friday
Friday, April 17
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Memorial Day
Monday, May 29
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule

Independence Day
Tuesday, July 4

Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Labor Day
Monday, September 4
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Veteran’s Day
Friday, November 10
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Thanksgiving
Thursday, November 23
CLOSED CLOSED
Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 24
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
TV-Electronics & HHW Schedule
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25
CLOSED CLOSED
Christmas Holiday
Tuesday, December 26
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours
Christmas Holiday
Wednesday, December 27
Open Regular Hours Open Regular Hours