Asheville/Buncombe Time Capsule Day

WHEREAS Asheville's first time cansule was placed by the North Carolina Gra

- WHEREAS, Asheville's first time capsule was placed by the North Carolina Grand Lodge of Masons under the cornerstone of the Vance Monument as part of the monument construction in 1896; and
- **WHEREAS**, the first time capsule contained a Bible, coins, local media publications, Masonic memorabilia, Zebulon Vance memorabilia, a list of city officers, a city schools year book and honor roll, and the program of the dedication ceremony; and
- **WHEREAS**, the 1896 time capsule was revealed on March 31, 2015 as part of the Vance Monument restoration project in partnership with the 26th North Carolina Regiment; and
- **WHEREAS**, the 2015 Asheville Buncombe Time Capsule is the next time capsule to take its place under the cornerstone of the Vance Monument; and
- WHEREAS, the 2015 Time Capsule contains a snap shot of what makes Asheville and Buncombe County unique in 2015 including but not limited to Diversity, Heritage, Business, Arts & Culture, Industry, Economy, Current Events, Tourism, Social Issues, Demographics, Food, Education, History, Special Events; and
- **WHEREAS**, the 2015 Time Capsule will be placed under the Vance Monument cornerstone during an installation ceremony on September 18, 2015, and designated by a marker; and
- **WHEREAS**, the 2015 Time Capsule will be opened in 100 years by future generations of Asheville/Buncombe citizens in 2115.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY the Board of Commissioners for the County of Buncombe as follows:

1. That September 18, 2015 be proclaimed:

2015 Asheville Buncombe Time Capsule Day

in Buncombe County.

- 2. That Buncombe County Commissioners encourage all citizens to celebrate the 2015 Asheville Buncombe Time Capsule as the official time capsule of Asheville and Buncombe County which is to be opened in 2115.
- 3. That this proclamation be effective upon its adoption.

ADOPTED this the 1ST day of September, 2015.

BUNCOMBE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

BY:		
	David Gantt. Chairman	