Skip to Main Content

Boards & Commissions

Health & Human Services Board

Info About Members

  • 19 total
  • All appointed by the County Commissioners


4 years


This Board was created by NCGS 153A-77. “Except as otherwise provided by this section and subject to any limitations that may be imposed by the board of county commissioners under G.S. 153A-77, a consolidated health and human services board created pursuant to G.S. 153A-77(b) shall have the responsibility and authority to carry out the programs established in this Chapter in conformity with the rules and regulations of the Social Work Services Commission and under the supervision of the Department of Health & Human Services in the same manner as a county Social Work Services board.”


Professionals Required by Statute

Name Title Term
Dr. Candrice Thul Psychologist 4 years
Stephanie Kiser Pharmacist 4 years
Ken Putnam Engineer 4 Years
Ed Coryell Dentist 4 Years
Dr. Paul Endry Optometrist 4 years
Jennifer Wehe Social Worker 4 years
Winnie Ziegler Registered Nurse/Heart Path 4 years
Dr. David McClain Physician 4 years
Dr. Rick Weigel Psychiatrist 4 years
Dr. Richard Oliver, Vice Chair Veterinarian 4 years
Ellen Frost County Commissioner N/A

Public/Consumer Advocates/Representatives

Name Title Term
Bill McElrath, Emeritus County Liaison 4 years
Susanne Swanger, Chair Associate Superintendent/BC Schools 4 years
Sonya Greck Behavioral Health & Safety Net Services – Mission Health 4 years
Sharon West Registered Nurse/VA Medical Center 4 years
Frank Castelblanco Director of Regional Services MAHEC 4 years
Rick Elingburg Employment Security Commission 4 years
Vacant   4 years
Terry VanDuyn Community Advisory Member 4 years